aussieholyspirit

Reaching out to Catholic/Christians Individuals/Families

Matthew 7 :7 – 12 – Commentary


Matthew 7:7-12
New International Version (NIV)
Ask, Seek, Knock
Quote : 7 “Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. 8 For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened.
9 “Which of you, if your son asks for bread, will give him a stone? 10 Or if he asks for a fish, will give him a snake? 11 If you, then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give good gifts to those who ask him! 12 So in everything, do to others what you would have them do to you, for this sums up the Law and the Prophets. Unquote.


Verses 7 and 8 are very powerful verses. These are very definite statements. It says Ask and you WILL receive, the one who seeks FINDS and to the one who knocks, the door WILL be opened. The verses do not say MAYBE – it says WILL – very definite words. What do these verses say to me. It says do not have any doubt in your heart.
A person must completely believe – must have total faith – absolute faith.

In verses 9, 10 and 11 continues to emphasise that we who are evil know how to give good things to our children. Would any of us give our children a stone for a meal when he/she is hungry or would we give our children a snake instead of a fish which is food. I love my children very much and I always gave them the best food that I could afford. In fact it always gave me great joy to see my children eat the food that I place on their plate. So, the next question is – Am I perfect? Well, no, I am not perfect. Only God is perfect. So, God being perfect would always give us the very best. But we must believe in Him totally and completely with no doubt whatsoever.

Well, you might say that it is easy for me to say so. Well, I have experienced God’s great love for me. I can speak for myself. This is my experience. My personal experience. The times when I doubted, I did not get what I prayed for spot on. I had to wait and wait to receive Great and Mighty blessings from God. Why? because I did not have total and complete faith. There was always an element of doubt. I knew that God loved me but to what extent, I did not know because I did not experience it. But God in His love and mercy taught me over the years through difficulties and struggles and achievements that He would give me anything that I asked for and believed in. When we pray according to His Holy Will and for His greater Glory, He will always answer our prayer. He will always give us a quality answer.

To have God by my side gives me the greatest joy and nothing in this world could ever compensate that. No one in this world could ever replace my God.

So my dear people, whenever you pray, believe that God loves you and that He WILL answer every prayer that you have prayed and He WILL always give you a QUALITY ANSWER.

I live one day at a time and all I ask Christ Jesus is to give me grace to live that one day to my fullest. To enjoy every moment of my day and ofcourse to do God’s Holy Will. For me, doing God’s Holy WILL gives me the Greatest Joy and I can never ever be separated from Him. It is very scary to be separated from Him. The very thought of being separated from Him gives me the shivers. To be in His presence always makes me feel very safe. My Heavenly Father knows how to bless me and my family. He always provides for our needs and when He provides Our Wants, it is then a MIRACLE which happens everyday.

There was a time in my life when I thought I knew God but I really did not know Him. It was then that I asked Him as to why did He choose me to suffer and I was very upset with Him. Then over the years, He taught me and He cleansed me. He stripped away my sin, my anger, my disappoints, my pride and He removed the scales from my eyes and He kept drawing me closer and closer to Him. Any human being who says, ‘I have no sin’ is a lier. Every human being has sinned and has fallen short of the Glory of God.

Now that I am so close to Christ Jesus, I always ask Him as to why He chose to bless me. He then says to me. Do you remember the time when you asked me as to why I chose you to suffer? Well, now I have chosen to bless you. Christ Jesus then asked me if I was happy to be chosen to be blessed. I then said, ‘Yes Lord, it is very sweet to be blessed by you.’

My dear friends, believe me God is Good. He is always Good and He has always been Good. The problem is us. We must pray for faith. We must ask God to increase our faith. We must pray and ask God to atleast give us faith as big as a grain of a mustard seed, so when we say to the mountain (our troubles, trails and tribulations) move, it WILL move.

The most important verse is: 12 So in everything, do to others what you would have them do to you, for this sums up the Law and the Prophets. If you want to be treated well, then treat others well. If you want people to be kind and loving to you, then treat people with kindness and love. So, if you want people to treat you will honour and dignity, then treat others with honour and dignity. This is the law of nature. What we do unto others, would be done unto ourselves.

So, please get down on your knees and pray for the gift of faith and when you pray believe – it WILL surely be given to you.

BELIEVE IN CHRIST JESUS! TRUST IN HIM AND HE WILL NEVER FAIL YOU! GOD REJOICES IN BLESSING HIS PEOPLE!


February 29, 2012 - Posted by | Blessing, Catechesis, Catholicism, Charismatic Renewal, Confidence, couples, Faith in God, Faithful, Family, God, God's Love, Jesus Christ, married couples, Presence of God, Trust in God, Youth | ,

2 Comments »

  1. You just keep getting better. God Bless, SR

    Comment by SR | March 1, 2012 | Reply

    • Dear SR,
      Your compliments are encouraging. Thanks and God bless,
      Florence

      Comment by Florence D'Costa | March 1, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

