aussieholyspirit

Reaching out to Catholic/Christians Individuals/Families

Matt 9:27-33 – Gospel – December 02, 2011

Jesus Heals the Blind.

27 As Jesus went on from there, two blind men followed him, calling out, “Have mercy on us, Son of David!”
28 When he had gone indoors, the blind men came to him, and he asked them, “Do you believe that I am able to do this?”

“Yes, Lord,” they replied.

“29 Then he touched their eyes and said, “According to your faith let it be done to you”; 30 and their sight was restored. Jesus warned them sternly, “See that no one knows about this.” 31 But they went out and spread the news about him all over that region.

“32 While they were going out, a man who was demon-possessed and could not talk was brought to Jesus. 33 And when the demon was driven out, the man who had been mute spoke. The crowd was amazed and said, “Nothing like this has ever been seen in Israel.”

My dear people,

“For about a few minutes I would like you to practice being blind. Close your eyes for about 5 minutes. After 5 minutes how do you think you would feel? Well, I will tell you what happened to me in those 5 to 10 minutes.

I was sitting at my computer and I stood up and closed my eyes to start my experiment. As fast as I stood up for some reason a nerve in my left foot pulled. The pain was so excruciating and I wanted to lay my hands on a tube of deep heat which I knew was somewhere close by. My daughter was in the same room – in our living room and she was watching TV and I asked her to help me place my hands on the deep heat as I was having this sudden pain in my leg and I can hear her laughing and I began to laugh myself as I was fumbling along, trying to follow her directions. I finally got the tube and she again directed me to my Recliner Chair.   I applied the ointment to my foot and she again directed me back to where I needed to replace the deep heat and then again back to my Recliner Chair.   When I went back to my Recliner Chair,  I opened my eyes and then my daughter and I laughed and laughed. Well, it is easy for me to laugh because I knew that I was not blind.

“My dear people, I was blind for that period of time but, I definitely needed assistance. Jesus knew how these two blind men were suffering and when they approached Him seeking healing, He touched their eyes and they were healed.

“Now, did Jesus see their blindness and did he go straight to them and heal them. No, the blind men knew that Jesus was powerful and that he was a healer because they might have heard about the many miracles that he was performing and they wanted to be healed. So, they cried out to Jesus saying – “Have Mercy on us, Son of David.” How could Jesus be the Son of David as King David lived 1000 years before Jesus. Primarily though, when Christ was referred to as the Son of David, it was meant to refer to His Messianic title as the Old Testament prophesied concerning Him. In Matthew 1 you will find Jesus’ lineage which starts from David and comes down to Joseph, his adopted or foster father.

“Now, these two blind men, would have heard Jesus being called the ‘Son of David’. So, they cried out, ‘Have Mercy on us, Son of David.’ Then, Jesus asked them. “Do you believe, I could do this?” and they answered ‘Yes’. Jesus then replied, ‘According to your faith let it be done to you.’ And they were healed. So why do you think they were healed? Was it because Jesus had the power? No, it was because they believed in the power of Jesus. They had heard that Jesus had performed many miracles. So, because they believed and they were healed.”

My dear people, if miracles are not happening in our lives, then we need to question ourselves. Where are we going wrong? How strong is our faith? Do we believe in Jesus and in His miracle working power? In Matt 5:34 He said to her, “Daughter, your faith has healed you. Go in peace and be freed from your suffering.” So, Jesus is challenging us to BELIEVE in him totally and completely. Only then He can perform miracles in our lives.

A long time ago, I was a person who thought miracles were not for me – Yes, for others but not for me. But now, Christ Jesus has trained me to believe in His Miracle working Power and I Believe in Him. So, my dear people, pray and ask God to increase your Faith, Hope and Charity (Love).


December 2, 2011 - Posted by | Uncategorized

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

