aussieholyspirit

Reaching out to Catholic/Christians Individuals/Families

I did attend a Charismatic Course on Joshua on 8th & 9th of October, 2011.

The Charismatic Evangelisation Team did conduct a Course on Joshua during this weekend which I attended. I did have a very happy time meeting my friends. I was also very happy to meet Anselmo Ruspicioni from Italy. This is the second time that I have met him. I met him last year at Bulleen when he had come from Italy to give talks at a Conference – Parishes on Fire. He gave talks along with Bishop Julian Porteous, Bishop of Sydney and Fr Michael Shadbolt of Holy Family Church.

Now, coming back to these two days – Well, they were spirit filled days. Anselmo and Pat Kelly gave all the talks. The two most important things that surfaced in my heart and had an impact on me were the following two:

1. Matthew 6:33 “Seek ye first the kingdom of God and His Righteous and all these things shall be added unto you.”

2. Ephesians 6:10-18 The Armor of God – “10 Finally, be strong in the Lord and in his mighty power. 11 Put on the full armor of God, so that you can take your stand against the devil’s schemes. 12 For our struggle is not against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the powers of this dark world and against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly realms. 13 Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. 14 Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, 15 and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. 16 In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. 17 Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God. 18 And pray in the Spirit on all occasions with all kinds of prayers and requests. With this in mind, be alert and always keep on praying for all the Lord’s people.”

1. The verse “Seek ye first the kingdom of God and His Righteousness and all these things shall be added unto you, has always been my favourite verse from the Bible. In my life I try my best to seek my God and His kingdom in everything that I do and my experience is that when I make my God Number One and I have my gaze on Him, He becomes magnified and my problems and difficulties shrink. I try my best to understand what it is that God really wants me to do. I spend time in prayer and I try to discern what His Holy will is for me. Whatever plans I have, I always take it to the Lord and I ask Him to help me discern what God wants me to do. I do not just think of something and act impulsively. I take my plans to Our Lord Jesus Christ and I pray about it. Seeking God, His Kingdom and His Righteousness does not mean that we neglect our work, go on our knees and pray the whole day. It means that we need to bring God into every situation. We need to bring Him into our homes by praying as a family, by sharing the chores, by speaking kindly and with respect to each other, by bringing God into our work places, into shopping centres, into our church community, into playgrounds, into classrooms – wherever we go and we need to ask God to help us decide to do what is right in our lives and pleasing to Him. To live according to God’s commandments of Love of God and to love our neighbour as we love ourselves. To seek God with a hunger and a thirst and to have the realisation that only God can satisfy us while we live our lives from day to day.

I would like to ask you a question? What scriptual verse or verses do you like from the Bible that you hold close to your heart. Words of hope, peace, encouragement, words of guidance, of protection etc. you? As I have mentioned earlier, the Word of God is alive, so we all need to read the bible and if there is a word or verses that we like, we need to make a note of it and speak it into our lives.

So, your exercise for today, is for you to think and make a note of these words or verses that you like and if you do not have favourite words or verses from the bible, then I think you need to begin from today to read your bible and make a note of these powerful words and speak them into your life or into certain situations in your life.”

I will write my views on ‘The Armour of God’ later today or tomorrow.


October 15, 2011 - Posted by | Charismatic Renewal

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

