aussieholyspirit

Reaching out to Catholic/Christians Individuals/Families

The Importance of Praying as an Individual.

This article is specifically for parents to encourage their children from a young age to pray.  Parents need to encourage their children to have a PRAY TABLE.  On this Pray Table the children could have a PRAY BOX with their names on it.  They could collect prayers that they like, pictures of saints and also write their own prayers.  Children should also be taught to pray spontaneously.  It is necessary that they develop a habit of praying during the day.  Something like “JESUS, I LOVE YOU; JESUS I NEED YOU; HELP ME JESUS! etc.  Children should be made aware that Prayer is: talking and listening to God.  When they listen to God, they would definitely hear God talking to them in different ways.  Some children that I have spoken to have shared with me that Jesus says to them that HE LOVES THEM; HE DOES ASK ME TO HELP MY PARENTS BY DOING CHORES IN THE HOME; I FEEL HAPPY WHEN I PRAY etc.  I feel it is very important to encourage children to listen to God after they do all the talking.

Below is a pray that I feel could be placed in the child’s room to enable the child to pray first thing in the morning as soon as they awake:

 

 ‘LORD JESUS CHRIST, I LOVE YOU!
HELP ME TO PRAY EVERY MORNING AS SOON AS I OPEN MY EYES.

HELP ME TO REMEMBER YOU DURING THE DAY AND TO TALK TO YOU OFTEN.

HELP ME TO REMEMBER THAT YOU ARE MY FRIEND
AND THAT YOU ARE WITH ME ALL THE TIME.

HELP ME TO PRAY AT NIGHT AND TO EXAMINE MY CONSCIENCE.

HELP ME TO PRAY WITH MY FAMILY.

LORD JESUS CHRIST, I AM BAPTISED
AND HAVE BEEN SEALED BY THE HOLY SPIRIT.

I BELONG TO YOU.  I LOVE YOU FATHER, SON AND THE HOLY SPIRIT.

HOLY MARY,  MOTHER OF GOD, PRAY FOR US.

ALL THE ANGELS AND SAINTS PRAY FOR US.  AMEN.’

(GUARDIAN ANGELS DO PRAY FOR US)
“See that you do not despise one of these little ones, for I say to you that their angels in heaven always look upon the face of my Heavenly Father.”  Matthew 18:10

My dear Catholic parent/parents I would like to stress here the importance  of communication.  If we do not communicate with each other, then there is definitely no relationship.  If we do not pray to God, then we definitely do not have a relationship with the Most High God.  God does gift to us every morning 1440 minutes.  It is only but fair that we use some of this time to communicate (pray) with Him –  We need to spend sometime  to

  •  Praise and worship Him.
  •  To examine our conscience and to make a resolution that we would try to be better the next day.
  •  To pray for ourselves and to pray for others and lastly
  •  To thank Him for the 1440 minutes that He freely gives us every Morning.

This is some food for thought.

I would like to receive your comments.  Thank you!.

September 26, 2011 - Posted by | Prayers | , , ,

2 Comments »

  1. Hi Florence, Thank you for sharing your experience at WYD. I read your blog with great interest and look forward to further posts. Your photographs are really good. You look happy. May God Bless you. Your friend always, Shirley

    Comment by Shirley | October 4, 2011 | Reply

  2. Well done Florence!!!! Keep up the good work. I hope You will have a faithful following behind you.
    You look fantastic in the photo and keep smiling like that always.

    Good wishes,
    May God bless you.
    Lots of “LOVE”
    Your affectionate friend
    Sriyanka

    Comment by Sriyanka | October 18, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

